46,000 votes counted in the tight race between candidates

CHRIS Loft leads incumbent mayor Gerard O'Connell by about 1750 votes in the mayoral race.

Candidates are sitting and waiting while the Electoral Commission of Queensland continues the count.

With 46,725 votes counted Cr Loft has 33% of the vote with Cr O'Connell trailing on 30%.

Steve Coleman sits on 16% while Jannean Dean has 10%, Greg Schmidt 6% and Lee Carter 2%.

In division two incumbent councillor Phil Truscott is chasing former State Member for Maryborough Anne Maddern.

Ms Maddern has 1410 votes compared to Mr Truscott's 1377.

Division six remains close with 19 votes still separating the three candidates.

David Lewis leads on 1706 ahead of Geoff Redpath at 1688 and David Dalgleish on 1687.

The ECQ will continue counting on Thursday.