DOWN AND OUT: India captain and wicketkeeper MS Dhoni looks on as Australia’s Glenn Maxwell is bowled in the T20 World Cup game.
DOWN AND OUT: India captain and wicketkeeper MS Dhoni looks on as Australia’s Glenn Maxwell is bowled in the T20 World Cup game. GETTY IMAGES

Doolan misses out in favour of Phil Hughes for test team

INCUMBANT Test batsman Alex Doolan has not had his Cricket Australia contract renewed, dumped in favour of Phil Hughes who has not played a Test since the failed Ashes campaign in England in July, 2013.

Hughes, 25, was axed after making just one run in each innings of the second Test at Lord's which England won by 347 runs.

Despite his absence from the Test arena, Hughes will pocket a minimum of $250,000 for the 2014/15 season after being included on the 18-man list released by Cricket Australia yesterday.

Doolan was one of 10 contracted players left off the list - the others were: Ed Cowan, Pat Cummins, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, Clint McKay, Matthew Wade, Usman Khawaja, Adam Voges and Nathan Coulter-Nile. The other surprise inclusion was batsman Shaun Marsh.

The West Australian was recalled to the Australian XI for the first time in more than two years in the second Test against South Africa in February. Marsh made 148 and 44, but followed with two ducks in the third Test, taking his tally of zeros to six in 15 innings in the Baggy Green.

Chairman of selectors John Inverarity said while Doolan had missed out on an initial contract, an upgrade during the season was a real possibility.

"He's very much to the fore in our thinking. He's the incumbent number three so it's up to him to perform well and if he does he'll be upgraded," Inverarity said.

To be upgraded to the main list, players must earn 12 upgrade points that are awarded on the following basis - five points per Test appearance, two for an ODI and one for a T20 International.

Those players overlooked for central contracts will be eligible to be contracted by state associations, with the first round of those deals to be finalised by April 17.

Australia's quest to win its first Twenty20 World Cup is over after losing to India by 73 runs in Bangladesh. India was restricted to 7-159 from its 20 overs, Yuvraj Singh leading the way with 60 runs off 43 balls. The Aussies were then bundled out for just 86 with more than four overs remaining.

Off-spinner Ravi Ashwin was the chief destroyer for India, finishing with 4-11, including the scalps of Aaron Finch (6), David Warner (19) and Glenn Maxwell (23) as Australia crumbled to its second-lowest score in a T20 international.

Contracted players

George Bailey, Michael Clarke, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Phillip Hughes, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Chris Rogers, James Pattinson, peter Siddle, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Shane Watson.