Prime Minister Tony Abbott.
Prime Minister Tony Abbott. Vicki Wood

Abbott appoints key figures on business advisory council

LEADERS across most major sectors of the economy have been appointed to a key Abbott Government business advisory council.

Led by Maurice Newman, the new council includes BHP chairman Jac Nasser and Premier Investments Solomon Lew.

A statement from Prime Minister Tony Abbott's office revealed the full list of 12 business figures to "restore a working relationship between business and government".

Leaders from major companies including Bega Cheese, Grocon, BlueScope Steel, NAB and Linfox have all been given a seat at the table.

Mr Abbott has established the council to help guide policies that are "sympathetic" to the needs of business, but has not established a similar body representing unions' interests.

The council will meet three times a year during the government's first term.