ECQ declares Labor win in M'boro electorate by 746 votes

THE Electoral Commission of Queensland has officially declared Labor's Bruce Saunders has won the seat of Maryborough.

Since election night, Mr Saunders has kept his nose in front of LNP incumbent Anne Maddern, who eventually conceded defeat at the weekend.

With the final count of 32,382 votes, Mr Saunders has beaten Ms Maddern by 746 votes.

While she will now take a year off to consider her options, Mr Saunders expects to get straight down to the business of "putting Maryborough first".

Independent Chris Foley was expected to hotly contest the seat but was only able to attract 6749 of the primary vote. 

Mr Saunders had more than 100 volunteers, dubbed 'Saunders soldiers' helping him letterbox drop and man polling booths.