New RDA committee members for Wide Bay Burnett region

SIX new members have been appointed to the Wide Bay Burnett Regional Development Australia committee.

Federal Member for Wide Bay and Minister for Regional Development Warren Truss said Kirsti Kee, Bundaberg Mayor Mal Forman, Janelle Gerry, Ben Ellingsen, Joanne Dowling and Georgie Somerset had been appointed.

"These new committee members' skills and experiences will strengthen the RDA and improve its capacity to assist in the development of the Wide Bay Burnett region," he said.

"One of the key roles of RDA committees is to provide advice to government on activities that unlock economic development and improve productivity in their local regions.

"RDA committees also identify critical issues in each region and increase awareness of Australian Government programs.

"I look forward to seeing the Wide Bay Burnett RDA continue its work in assisting local community stakeholders to develop project proposals and promote the Australian Government's $1 billion National Stronger Regions Fund."

Regional Development Australia consists of a national network of 55 committees that focus on regional economic development and aim to facilitate projects that make a difference in local communities.

Information on the work being undertaken by the Wide Bay Burnett RDA can be found online at