Jonny Wilkinson was the hero of England’s 2003 success.
Jonny Wilkinson was the hero of England’s 2003 success.

Rivalry history points to one thing - prepare for a classic

THE score sits at 3-3.

Australia enjoyed the early ascendancy before England roared back to take three games in a row.

Australia then grabbed the biggest victory of all four years ago.

This is a Rugby World Cup rivalry like no other.

Here's a look back at all the games.

Simon Poidevin was outstanding for the Aussies in the 1987 clash.
Simon Poidevin was outstanding for the Aussies in the 1987 clash.

1987 Sydney

Australia 19, England 6

Trailing only 6-0 in a hard-fought pool match, England levelled through a Mike Harrison converted try at Concord Oval.

The Wallabies reclaimed the lead with a controversial David Campese try in the 50th minute.

He placed the ball on the knee of opposite Rory Underwood but referee Keith Lawrence awarded the try. Simon Poidevin's try put the result beyond doubt.


1991 London

Australia 12, England 6

Chastened by a 40-15 thrashing in Sydney four months earlier, England naively changed tactics for the final from an effective 10-man game to razzle-dazzle.

Australia's defence was frazzled, with John Eales making a try-saving tackle on Rob Andrew, and David Campese making a contentious slap-down of a pass meant for Rory Underwood. It conceded a penalty - not the penalty try England wanted.

The only try was given to prop Tony Daly from a maul off a Willie Ofahengaue lineout take. Australia won its first Rugby World Cup crown.

Rob Andrew kicked the decisive field goal to get England home in 1995.
Rob Andrew kicked the decisive field goal to get England home in 1995.

1995 Cape Town

England 25, Australia 22

England's Rob Andrew and Australia's Michael Lynagh matched each other off the tee in this thrilling quarter-final at Newlands, each slotting five penalties and a conversion.

They were finally separated in the second minute of injury time by Andrew's dropped goal from 45m off a lineout win.

It marked England's first win over Australia in the southern hemisphere. Campese somehow walked onto the England bus afterward and endured some razzing.


2003 Sydney

England 20, Australia 17, ET

England overcame an early Lote Tuqiri try with a Jason Robinson try and three Jonny Wilkinson penalties to lead this dramatic final 14-5.

Australia rallied through Elton Flatley's penalties to level in the last minute of regulation.

In extra time, penalties were traded and England missed two dropped goal attempts.

Finally, in the 100th and last minute, Wilkinson's drop goal from 28m earned England a first Rugby World Cup title.


2007 Marseille

England 12, Australia 10

Australia, the odds-on favourite, led this quarter-final at half-time 10-6. But the Wallabies couldn't handle England's emerging forward power, notably loosehead prop Andrew Sheridan, and began backpedalling.

Jonny Wilkinson kicked his side ahead with his third and fourth penalties.

Australia's Stirling Mortlock missed a late penalty attempt from the touchline, and England incredibly held out for a shocking win.


2015 London

Australia 33, England 13

Australia hammered the nail in England's coffin by condemning it as the first tournament host to fail to reach the knockout stage.

England rallied from 20-3 down early in the second half to within seven, but Owen Farrell's yellow card for a dangerous tackle on Matt Giteau unravelled the home side.

Bernard Foley, in a 28-point haul, added two penalties and converted a try by Giteau to complete Australia's biggest winning margin against England at Twickenham.

Stream the Rugby World Cup 2019 on KAYO SPORTS. Every match Live & On-Demand on your TV, computer, mobile or tablet. Get your 14 day free trial >