Australia's Mile Jedinak, left, will be given time to prove his fitness for the World Cup playoffs.
Australia's Mile Jedinak, left, will be given time to prove his fitness for the World Cup playoffs. Andy Brownbill

Socceroos skipper given plenty of time to prove fitness

SOCCEROOS captain Mile Jedinak will be given until the 11th hour to prove his fitness for the World Cup playoffs against Honduras.

The midfielder has been picked in Ange Postecoglou's 30-man squad, which will be trimmed to 23 next week ahead of the November 10 and 15 games.

Jedinak is back in full training for Aston Villa but he has played just 45 minutes this season, coming off at half-time of their September 12 Championship game after groin issues persisted.

He had post-season surgery after carrying the groin injury for much of last season, limping through the 3-2 World Cup qualifying win over Saudi Arabia last June before missing the Confederations Cup.

Young Groningen attacker Ajdin Hrustic has been rewarded for recent Dutch top flight starts with a recall, while otherwise there are no surprises as Postecoglou's sticks with the crux of his recent squads with Australia's World Cup destiny on the line.

Injured Brad Smith is replaced by Norway-based Alex Gersbach, Bailey Wright and Belgium-based goalkeeper Danny Vukovic, who withdrew during the last camp, are recalled while Darmstadt striker Jamie Maclaren has been included after missing the final 23 against Syria.

"There are a couple of weeks before the group gets together so we will be monitoring the health and fitness of every player to make sure that the final twenty-three are available for what is going to be a challenging couple of games," Postecoglou said.

"We feel that we are right on schedule with regards to our arrangements, logistics and intelligence for Honduras, and are comfortable that the work completed and decisions made so far will help us in our quest to qualify for Russia.

"A large, vocal home crowd in Sydney for the second leg is something that everyone involved with the squad is looking forward to." 




Mat Ryan (Brighton, ENG), Mitch Langerak (Levante, SPA), Danny Vukovic (Genk, BEL), Mark Birighitti (NAC Breda, NET) 


Aziz Behich (Bursaspor, TUR), Milos Degenek (Yokohama F Marinos, JAP), Alex Gersbach (Rosenborg, NOR), Mathew Jurman (Suwon Bluewings, KOR), Ryan McGowan (Al-Sharjah, SAU), Josh Risdon (Western Sydney), Trent Sainsbury (Jiangsu Suning, CHI), Bailey Wright (Bristol, ENG),  


Mile Jedinak (Aston Villa, ENG), Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield, ENG), Massimo Luongo (QPR, ENG), Mustafa Amini (AGF, DEN), Craig Goodwin (Sparta Rotterdam, NET), Jackson Irvine (Hull City, ENG), James Jeggo (Sturm Graz, AUT). 


Tim Cahill (Melbourne City), Tomi Juric (Luzern, SWI), Nikita Rukavytsya (Maccabi Haifa, ISR), Robbie Kruse (Bochum, GER), Mathew Leckie (Hertha Berlin, GER), Tom Rogic (Celtic, SCO), James Troisi (Melbourne Victory), Awer Mabil (Pacos de Ferreira, POR), Jamie Maclaren (Darmstadt, GER), Ajdin Hrustic (Groningen, NETH).