Letters to the Editor

Tue 29 Oct 2019

Opinion: ‘Vaping a safer alternative for smokers’

premium_icon Opinion: ‘Vaping a safer alternative for smokers’

‘It is perplexing that Australia remains the only Western democracy to ban vaping’

Fri 25 Oct 2019

Wild dogs just as much an issue for farmers as the drought

premium_icon Wild dogs just as much an issue for farmers as the drought

"We need farmers so let’s take our hats off to them and the food they produce for us."

World owes much to press freedom

World owes much to press freedom

The world has much to thank the freedom of the press for, so don’t let it become victimised by petty bureaucracy.

Thu 24 Oct 2019

Would a Royal Commission into climate change be a start?

premium_icon Would a Royal Commission into climate change be a start?

It could be hard for its findings to be ignored, as the banking commission showed.

Thu 17 Oct 2019

Blackwater attack: ‘What sort of scum does this?’

premium_icon Blackwater attack: ‘What sort of scum does this?’

A former resident has spoken out about the town she once loved, saying it is now out of control.

Sat 12 Oct 2019

‘People aren’t sheep, or are they?’

premium_icon ‘People aren’t sheep, or are they?’

‘The words of the internet are accepted all too readily by the gullible believers’

Fri 27 Sep 2019

Hypocrisy, thy name is conservative!

premium_icon Hypocrisy, thy name is conservative!

OPINION: Perrett, O'Brien, ScoMo and Trump are as bad as each other with their inconsistencies and flagrant hypocricy

Wed 25 Sep 2019

'Cows being slaughtered': Tragic reality of milk price wars

premium_icon 'Cows being slaughtered': Tragic reality of milk price wars

ONE Chronicle reader has described a tragic scene which show the impact low milk prices are having on our farmers

Mon 23 Sep 2019

Climate change-denying grandpa slams student 'riots'

premium_icon Climate change-denying grandpa slams student 'riots'

"MANY of these malcontents were young women who, in my opinion, would have been far better off attending to their needlework and cooking classes".

Wed 11 Sep 2019

Opinion: ‘Cherish life from conception to natural death’

premium_icon Opinion: ‘Cherish life from conception to natural death’

‘The proposed euthanasia legislation is linked to aged and palliative care, which is frightening’

Sun 8 Sep 2019

Perrett says NAPLAN 'won't fix the problem' - what problem?

premium_icon Perrett says NAPLAN 'won't fix the problem' - what problem?

LETTER: Mr Perrett says NAPLAN "won't fix the problem”, but does not state what he thinks the problem is.

Mon 26 Aug 2019

More Newstart will help more people into jobs

premium_icon More Newstart will help more people into jobs

Scott Morrison and at least most federal government MPs want unemployed Australians to get a job.

Sun 25 Aug 2019

‘Hey stranger, need a lift? Just take my ute’

premium_icon ‘Hey stranger, need a lift? Just take my ute’

A tourist to the Sunshine Coast was thrilled by the generous and trusting nature of a local who he had asked for directions.

Mon 19 Aug 2019

Adani protestors: Climate anarchists or freedom fighters?

premium_icon Adani protestors: Climate anarchists or freedom fighters?

READER: I have attended Adani-mine protests and I am proud of that.

Sun 11 Aug 2019

OPINION: Most people want a secular Australia

premium_icon OPINION: Most people want a secular Australia

"People in this country have the freedom to practise whatever religion they want, but now Christians believe they should have special rights to discriminate”

Mon 29 Jul 2019

LETTER: Is climate change really to blame?

premium_icon LETTER: Is climate change really to blame?

'There are no full unmitigated truths that can prove the death of bush in the Girraween National Park has anything to do with climate change only assumptions.'

Tue 23 Jul 2019

Gympie election candidate stirs up social media storm

premium_icon Gympie election candidate stirs up social media storm

Environmental request creates strong reactions from Gympie Facebook followers.

Sat 13 Jul 2019

Drivers should be fined $1000 for using mobile phones

premium_icon Drivers should be fined $1000 for using mobile phones

The suggestion that drivers caught using mobile phones may soon receive on the spot $1000 fines (with loss of licence for second offenders), is a cracker.

Tue 9 Jul 2019

Tax cuts were nothing but a cynical ploy to buy votes

premium_icon Tax cuts were nothing but a cynical ploy to buy votes

We have the most inexperienced Treasurer in memory in Josh Frydenberg who wouldn't know how to play Monopoly.

Tue 2 Jul 2019

New fine will be 'instant penance' for drivers

premium_icon New fine will be 'instant penance' for drivers

SEVEN years ago, when first living in Toowoomba, my wife and I were impressed at how spiritual the drivers seem to be here.

Newer Older